top of page

STICKY // MAGIC REVIEW

Today I'll be reviewing STICKY BY KEVIN SCHALLER. It's another release that I used to use a lot but don't use anymore (more on that later). So let's get into the review.

WHERE TO BUY:

AVAILABLE AT YOUR FAVOURITE MURPHY'S MAGIC DEALER

REVIEW:

Let's get into the pros and cons...

PROS:

- My favourite effect was MentalGum. It is really clever and well thought out and the gimmicks are extremely easy to make. People also reacted strongly to this effect when I performed it to them.

- Marked was my second favourite effect because again it feels nearly impossible in the mind of the spectator. The gimmicks are not that hard to make but may require a bit of caution as you are making them. They are harder to make than the MentalGum gimmicks

- Torn and fuzed was my next favourite effect. You are left with an impossible souvenir which is always a big plus in my book. The gimmick construction is not hard but will take time.

- Push through was my least favourite effect but I still liked it. There are no gimmicks for this which is really good and it's very easy to perform. You could do this with a borrowed pack of gum (if you really wanted to). 

- This isn't a card magic DVD. Sometimes you want to perform something other than card magic and this uses great, organic props.

CONS:

- For MentalGum, there are a little bit of angles issues as someone can't be behind you whilst performing this.

- If you give out the gum in MentalGum, you will need to replace the gimmick which can be a bit annoying. I don't think there's any point in giving the gum out if I'm honest.

- If you let the spectator keep the impossible souvenir from torn and fuzed, you will have to make another gimmick which is very tiresome. Only give out the souvenir on special occasions.

- Now, I used to perform these effects a lot when I first purchased this as the cons are really minor cons. However, I stopped when I somehow lost my gimmicks and so when I went to buy some packs of gum to make the gimmicks again, I could not find any blister type packets. I searched all of the major supermarkets in my area and could not find any blister packs of gum. I used to use the trident packs but they seem to have disappeared.

WILL I USE THIS:

Well I did use this very often and I loved using it! It was one of my favourite DVD'S because the routines were very easy to follow for the spectator. 

However, because of the reason mentioned above, I was not able to continue to use this, even though I would love to still use this.

RATING:

8/10

IF YOU WANT TO READ MORE REVIEWS THEN PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY MAILING LIST.

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO HELP ME CONTINUE THESE REVIEWS THEN PLEASE LEAVE ME A PAYPAL DONATION. IT CAN BE ANY AMOUNT YOU WANT.

Thanks!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page