top of page

TRUE MYSTERIES // MAGIC REVIEW

Today I will be reviewing another rather old release that had received a lot of hype. But did it live up to the hype? You shall find out...

WHERE TO BUY:

REVIEW:

Lately, Fraser Parker has been making a name for himself with his mentalism releases. The ones that have got him the most attention are the propless pieces. However, this was my first introduction to Fraser's work...and this is what I thought of it.

PROS:

- The book and DVD are really nicely designed and you can tell that it is made out of superb quality with glossy paper. Some may not care for the quality of the book but I think it reflects the authors passion for the product.

- The two effects described as make your participants stuck to whatever they are holding and make them unable to speak are two of the more surefire ones in my limited testing of the material.

- The book describes in detail how to go about performing the routines and the accompanying DVD solidifies what is written.

- It's clear that Fraser has worked most of these routines ( not sure about the "changing the spectators beliefs one" ,but still) and has mastered the subtleties.

- If you don't get put off by the hit rate on most of these routines and if you master them, it can help you look like a REAL magician.

- The technique used no physical gimmick, just your words, so nothing to carry around with you.

CONS:

- The routine claiming to change your participants beleif in God is just complete BS. If a full performance of the this routine was put up, not only would magicians figure out how it was done but layman would as well. The participant that is asked about his/her beliefs is left confused as to why the h*** you just asked them what you asked and what the point was...they do not experience ANYTHING magical. This routine was a huge let down compared to the rest of the routines provided.

- It is claimed (in a particular chat/forum) that this is not routines based on "suggestion". And again I call BS on that. These routines all use "suggestion" but with a slightly altered script. This means this still is "suggestion" and in my experience still gets the same hit rate as as classic suggestion routines. To call these routines anything other than "suggestion based routines" is not correct.

- You may not always hit with the routines. This was the main reason I stopped using these routines after a couple of weeks of trialling them. I was not comfortable in using the outs provided either. The outs made the routine seem a bit "iffy" to the spectator if you don't get a hit...it's hard to explain in words.

- Some may say it is slightly expensive considering the amount of content/effects you receive, but we all spend £30-40 on single tricks DVD's more often than not.

- Another routine I didn't like at all was you claiming to implant "cards" into people's minds. I think not only would it not work on a lot of spectators but also, to the very few people I performed it on, they worked the "method" out within seconds of me finishing the routine. Maybe I just perform to highly, highly intelligent spectators but the fact that it was that easy to be deconstructed filled me with doubt.

WILL I USE IT:

NO! I did use this for a couple weeks and did all of the routines except for the changing someone's belief in God. I only liked the two routines of making a spectator stuck to the box of cards and making them unable to speak. The other routines had either too low of a hit rate or were just too easy for the spectator to figure out. I stopped using this after those couple of weeks because my I didn't feel comfortable failing a lot of the time and not having a suitable out.

However, if you do want to get into suggestion routines, then I will recommend "I Create As I Speak by Lewis Le Val". With his techniques, I found the hit rate to be much higher and, IMO, his outs make a lot more sense.

RATING:

5.7/10

WHERE TO BUY

THANKS FOR READING THIS REVIEW! IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO READ MORE REVIEWS THEN PLEASE SUBSCRIBE TO MY MAILING LIST!

IF YOU WANT TO SEND IN A PRODUCT FOR ME TO REVIEW THEN PLEASE GET INTO CONTACT THROUGH THIS WEBSITE!

THANKS!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page